Authors

Praise

“Every page yields wonderful surprises—of invention, of insight, of language.” —Richard Russo on The Black Brook

“Drury ranks right up there with Robert Stone when it comes to depicting the futility of American wanderlust.” —Boston Herald on The Black Brook

“A unique voice, Drury will nonetheless appeal to fans of Richard Ford and Raymond Carver.” —Booklist (starred review) on The Black Brook

“Beguiling . . . Perceptive and captivating.” —The New York Times on Hunts in Dreams

“A gorgeous, inexplicably sad and funny novel.” —Salon.com on Hunts in Dreams

“One of America’s finest, most imaginative authors.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“A truly great writer.” —Esquire

“Drury is nothing less than a wizard.” —The Boston Globe

“[Drury has] a deadpan-comic ear for small-town life and an eye for the singular moral codes of the characters who inhabit them.” —Plain-Dealer (Cleveland)

“A Drury story, like many by Alice Munro, is apt to jump its banks as it flows, wonderfully freeform, with devilment in its details.” —Chicago Tribune

Awards

New York Times Editor’s Choice, The Driftless Area
Chicago Tribune Best Books, The Driftless Area
San Francisco Chronicle Best Books, The Driftless Area
GQ‘s Best Books of Last 45 Years, The End of Vandalism
Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
New York Times Notable Books, Hunts in Dreams
Borders Original Voices, The Black Brook
Granta‘s Best Young American Novelists
Best of BBC Radio’s Recent Short Fiction, “Heroin Man”
ALA Notable Books, The End of Vandalism
New York Magazine Best Books, The End of Vandalism
Publishers Weekly Best Books, The End of Vandalism