fbpx

Booksellers & Librarians

Grove Atlantic is proud to offer robust sales and marketing support to Booksellers and Librarians across the globe. For decades, we’ve been publishing a rich and diverse catalog of thoughtful, boundary-pushing literature that has often helped expand and define the American cultural landscape. We encourage all Booksellers and Librarians to browse the full Grove Atlantic catalog, and to get in touch to let us know ways in which we might better help you serve your community.

February 2023

Alligator Alley

by Mike Lawson

The latest thriller from Edgar and Barry Award finalist Mike Lawson starring his beloved “troubleshooter” Joe DeMarco

February 2023

The Incredible Events in Women’s Cell Number 3

by Kira Yarmysh

The startling, vivid debut novel by Alexey Navalny’s press secretary, following a woman who is arrested at an anti-corruption rally in Moscow and sentenced to ten days in a special detention center, where she shares a cell with five other women from all walks of life

author on Tour

view dates

February 2023

My Nemesis

by Charmaine Craig

From the acclaimed author of Miss Burma, longlisted for the National Book Award and the Women’s Prize for Fiction, comes an immersive and searing story of two women, their marriages, and the rivalry between them

author on Tour

view dates

February 2023

The Applicant

by Nazlı Koca

A singular debut from “an important and radical new literary voice” (Elif Batuman), The Applicant explores with wit and brevity what it means to be an immigrant, woman, and emerging writer

author on Tour

view dates

February 2023

The Lincoln Miracle

by Ed Achorn

The vivid, behind-the-scenes story of perhaps the most consequential political moment in American history—Abraham Lincoln’s history-changing nomination to lead the Republican Party in the 1860 presidential election

February 2023

Still Writing

by Dani Shapiro

“One of those rare books that is both beautiful and useful. Still Writing is an exploration of the writing life, lit up by Shapiro’s luminous voice.” —Susan Orlean

February 2023

12 Bytes

by Jeanette Winterson

Twelve eye-opening, mind-expanding, funny and provocative essays on the implications of artificial intelligence for the way we live and the way we love from New York Times bestselling author Jeanette Winterson

author on Tour

view dates

February 2023

Black Cloud Rising

by David Wright Faladé

Already excerpted in the New Yorker, Black Cloud Rising is a compelling and important historical novel that takes us back to an extraordinary moment when enslaved men and women were shedding their bonds and embracing freedom

February 2023

Crown & Sceptre

by Tracy Borman

On the eve of Queen Elizabeth II’s historic 70th anniversary on the throne, Tracy Borman’s sweeping narrative of the British monarchy illuminates one of history’s most iconic and enduring legacies

March 2023

River Spirit

by Leila Aboulela

The spellbinding new novel from New York Times Notable Author and Caine Prize winner Leila Aboulela about an embattled young woman’s coming of age during the Mahdist War in 19th century Sudan

March 2023

Ocean State

by Stewart O’Nan

Set in a working-class town on the Rhode Island coast, O’Nan’s latest is a crushing, beautifully written, and profoundly compelling novel about sisters, mothers, and daughters, and the terrible things love makes us do

author on Tour

view dates

March 2023

So Shall You Reap

by Donna Leon

In the thirty-second installment of Donna Leon’s bestselling series, a connection to Guido Brunetti’s own youthful past helps solve a mysterious murder

author on Tour

view dates

March 2023

Beyond Innocence

by Phoebe Zerwick

A deeply reported, gripping narrative of injustice, exoneration, and the lifelong impact of incarceration, Beyond Innocence is the poignant saga of one remarkable life that sheds vitally important light on the realities of the American justice system at every level

March 2023

Heart Sutra

by Yan Lianke

From “China’s foremost literary satirist” (Financial Times) comes a captivating new novel set at a religious training center in Beijing

author on Tour

view dates

March 2023

How to Think Like a Woman

by Regan Penaluna

From a bold new voice in nonfiction, an exhilarating account of the lives and works of influential 17th and 18th century feminist philosophers Mary Wollstonecraft and her predecessors who have been written out of history, and a searing look at the author’s experience of patriarchy and sexism in academia

March 2023

Mexico City Blues

by Jack Kerouac

“A great masterpiece, a singing religious poem.”—Michael McClure

March 2023

Young Mungo

by Douglas Stuart

A story of queer love and working-class families, Young Mungo is the brilliant second novel from the Booker Prize-winning author of Shuggie Bain

March 2023

Reptile Memoirs

by Silje Ulstein

A bestselling Norwegian debut already sold in thirteen territories, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliantly twisty and unusual literary thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Jo Nesbø, Kate Atkinson, and Tana French, asking the question: Can you ever really shed your skin?

March 2023

Muckross Abbey and Other Stories

by Sabina Murray

From the PEN/Faulkner award winning pioneer of “ironic gothic” (Washington Post) comes a wry and spooky set of ghost stories, replete with original illustrations

April 2023

Enter Ghost

by Isabella Hammad

A bold, evocative new novel from the Sue Kaufman, Betty Trask and Plimpton Prize Award winner Isabella Hammad that follows actress Sonia as she returns to Palestine and takes a role in a West Bank production of Hamlet

author on Tour

view dates

April 2023

Life Sentence

by Mark Bowden

In this unprecedented deep dive into inner-city gang life, Mark Bowden takes readers inside a Baltimore gang, offers an in-depth portrait of its notorious leader, and chronicles the 2016 FBI investigation that landed eight gang members in prison

April 2023

A ‘Working Life’

by Eileen Myles

From “one of the essential voices in American poetry” (New York Times) comes a rich new collection of expansive, light-footed, and cheerfully foreboding poems oddly in tune with our strange and evolving present

April 2023

Moscow Exile

by John Lawton

From “quite possibly the best historical novelist we have” (Philadelphia Inquirer), the fourth Joe Wilderness spy thriller, moving from Red Scare-era Washington, D.C. to a KGB prison near Moscow’s Kremlin

April 2023

Also a Poet

by Ada Calhoun

A staggering memoir from New York Times-bestselling author Ada Calhoun tracing her fraught relationship with her father and their shared obsession with a great poet

April 2023

Redemption

by Mike Lawson

Convicted of insider trading, Jamison Maddox reluctantly accepts a mysterious job that soon takes an ominous twist, sending him on the run from powerful and deadly forces in the latest thriller from Barry Award and Edgar Award finalist Mike Lawson

May 2023

Bad, Bad Seymour Brown

by Susan Isaacs

New York Times-bestselling author Susan Isaacs returns to a pair of her readers’ favorite characters, former FBI agent Corie Geller and her retired cop dad, who must solve one of the NYPD’s coldest homicide cases—before the crime’s sole survivor is killed

May 2023

The Covenant of Water

by Abraham Verghese

From the New York Times-bestselling author of Cutting for Stone comes a stunning and magisterial epic of love, faith, and medicine, set in Kerala, South India, following three generations of a family seeking the answers to a strange secret

May 2023

Orphan Bachelors

by Fae Myenne Ng

From the bestselling and award-winning author of the novels Bone and Steer Toward Rock, Fae Myenne Ng’s Orphan Bachelors is an extraordinary memoir of her beloved San Francisco’s Chinatown and of a family building a life in a country bent on their exclusion

May 2023

Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea

by Gary Kinder

“A marvelous tale, with generous portions of history, adventure, intrigue, heroism, and high technology interwoven . . . Gary Kinder has the skill to put it all together, and luckily for us, we get to read it.” —Los Angeles Times

May 2023

Lonesome Traveler

by Jack Kerouac

“Kerouac’s work represents the most extensive experiment in language and literary form undertaken by an American writer of his generation.” –Ann Douglas “ ‘ ’ ”

June 2023

And Then He Sang a Lullaby

by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu

The inaugural title from Roxane Gay Books, And Then He Sang a Lullaby is a searingly honest and resonant debut from a 23-year-old Nigerian writer and queer liberation activist, exploring what love and freedom cost in a society steeped in homophobia

June 2023

Graveyard of the Pacific

by Randall Sullivan

A vivid portrait of the Columbia River Bar that combines maritime history, adventure journalism, and memoir, bringing alive the history—and present—of one of the most notorious stretches of water in the world

June 2023

Code of the Hills

by Chris Offutt

In this blistering return to Chris Offutt’s acclaimed crime series, Mick Hardin is tested like never before as familial allegiances and old wounds collide, threatening to destroy everything he loves

June 2023

Anne Boleyn & Elizabeth I

by Tracy Borman

Anne Boleyn may be best known for losing her head, but as Tudor expert Tracy Borman reveals in a book that recasts British history, her greatest legacy lies in the path-breaking reign of her daughter, Elizabeth

June 2023

Lost on Me

by Veronica Raimo

In this irreverent and hilariously inverted bildungsroman, award-winning and bestselling Italian author Veronica Raimo transforms neurosis, sex and family disaster into brilliant comedy reminiscent of Fleabag and Natalia Ginzburg’s Family Lexicon

July 2023

The Last Dance

by Mark Billingham

The first new series in two decades from multi-award-winning international bestseller Mark Billingham that introduces Detective Miller: a man who’s unique, unconventional, and criminally underestimated

July 2023

Flags on the Bayou

by James Lee Burke

From American master James Lee Burke comes a novel set in Civil War-era Louisiana as the South transforms and a brilliant cast of characters – enslaved and free women, plantation gentry, and battle-weary Confederate and Union soliders – are caught in the maelstrom

July 2023

Small Worlds

by Caleb Azumah Nelson

An exhilarating and expansive new novel about fathers and sons, faith and friendship from National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree and Costa First Novel Award winning author Caleb Azumah Nelson

July 2023

The Anniversary

by Stephanie Bishop

For fans of Lisa Halliday and Susan Choi, The Anniversary is a simmering page-turner about an ascendant writer, the unresolved death of her husband, and what it takes to emerge on her own