Books

Grove Press
Grove Press
Grove Press

Wolf

by Mo Hayder

A terrifying home invasion novel, in which the only clue to locate a family held hostage is a dog with the words “HELP US” on its collar.

  • Imprint Grove Paperback
  • Page Count 416
  • Publication Date April 14, 2015
  • ISBN-13 978-0-8021-2386-2
  • Dimensions 5.5" x 8.25"
  • US List Price $15.00
  • Imprint Grove Paperback
  • Publication Date May 06, 2014
  • ISBN-13 978-0-8021-9257-8
  • US List Price $15.00

About The Book

Edgar Award winner and internationally bestselling author Mo Hayder has made her name with nightmarishly dark, impeccably-plotted thrillers that hook readers from the first page and won’t let them go. With her latest novel, Wolf, the frighteningly talented Hayder ratchets up the terror yet another notch, with a bone-chilling home invasion novel.

When a vagrant—the Walking Man—finds a dog wandering alone with a scrap of paper with the words “HELP US” attached to its collar, he’s sure it’s a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved—until the Walking Man promises new information regarding the childhood abduction of Caffery’s brother in exchange for the detective’s help tracking down the dog’s owners. Caffery has no idea who or what he is searching for, but one thing he is sure of: it’s a race against time.

Meanwhile a wealthy local family is fighting for their lives, held hostage in their remote home. As their ordeal becomes increasingly bizarre and humiliating, the family begins to wonder: Is this really a random crime?

With all of the taut suspense and terrifying twists that have kept her fans on the edge of their seats for years, Wolf cements Hayder’s place at the top of the crime-writing field.

Praise

“[A] destined-to-be classic . . . Hayder’s work and characters are worth the unending nightmares they will inspire.” —The New York Times Book Review

“The home invasion novel to end all home invasion novels . . . Hayder neatly splits genres with this series, borrowing in equal measure from suspense and horror, not unlike John Connolly’s Charlie Parker novels or T. Jefferson Parker’s Charlie Hood books. Wolf is exceptionally original in premise and nightmarish in its rendering.” —Bruce Tierney, Bookpage

“Mo Hayder is a master of ratcheting up tension throughout a book—to the point that one must simply finish it before doing anything else. Such is the case with Wolf.” —George Easter, Deadly Pleasures (Rating: A-)

“Mo Hayder’s books featuring Jack Caffery are always an entertaining and engaging read, and this one doesn’t disappoint.” —Euro Crime

“Hayder’s best Jack Caffery thriller yet . . . A home invasion novel like no other . . . Dark and twisty, this gripping crime novel by an Edgar Award winner is an outstanding read, whether Jack is a new character to the reader or an old friend. For fans of John Connolly or Robert Crais.” —Marianne Fitzgerald, Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfectly and wonderfully paced, and imaginatively plotted and written . . . There are twists and turns aplenty here—not so many as to be confusing, but just enough to keep the reader reading incessantly from first sentence to last paragraph. . . . Read Wolf; you simply will never forgive yourself if you don’t.” —Joe Hartlaub, Bookreporter.com

“This grisly tale of a family held hostage cements Hayder’s reputation as a queen of terror. Caffery is pitted against a chillingly evil villain whose brutal actions are both physical and psychological. Several skillfully interwoven plot lines culminate in a shocking ending. . . . A must-read for those who like their thrillers dark and gritty.” —Joyce Morgan, Romantic Times (4 stars)

“If her thriller Wolf is any indication, Mo Hayder has thoroughly mastered the art of reader manipulation. . . . You can’t help but obsessively turn pages. . . . Mo Hayder is one fine story teller. . . . The book is a wild ride, a ride well worth taking.” —Jack Goodstein, Blogcritics.org (4 out of 5 stars)

“Hayder . . . once again lures DI Jack Caffery into evil’s morass. . . . Hayder’s story is complex. . . . Sexual obsession, rejection as fuel for violence and revenge on the part of an arms dealer all add to a chilling, ominous atmosphere in which mangled characters lurk. . . . Another adventure for Caffery, a protagonist much like James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux or Paul Cleave’s Theo Tate, doomed to work ‘in the presence of evil.’” —Kirkus Reviews

Excerpt

The door opens then, and Oliver is pushed in ahead of Molina. He has his hands tied behind his back and he comes silently, giving the kitchen a quick, hopeful scan. He sees Matilda, and, immediately deflated to see her tied up, lowers his gaze to the floor. Shakes his head.

“Ollie?” she murmurs. “Ollie? What’s happening?”

Molina pushes Oliver against the cooker and forces his hands roughly around the handle. He uses another pair of cuffs to fasten Oliver there. While he’s doing it, DI Honey heads back to the door. “Wait,” Molina says. His glasses are slightly askew and there are sweat stains on his shirt. “Don’t go without me.”

He finishes with Oliver, then hurriedly follows his colleague back into the hallway. The door closes.

“Ollie?” Matilda hisses. “For heaven’s sake, what’s happening?”

He doesn’t answer. His head is hanging low, sunk in despair.

“Speak to me,” she hisses. “Speak to me.”

He turns his head slowly and peers at her over his shoulder, revealing a saggy and bloodshot eye.

“What’s going on? What are they doing?”

“I don’t know.” He shakes his head and turns away.

“Oliver—they can’t be the police. Why would the police do something like this?”

“They’re not police.”

“Then who?”

“I don’t know.”