“Dunmore captures how a single moment can change the course of a life.” —Gillian Flynn, Entertainment Weekly

“Dunmore’s carefully observed stories demonstrate her ear for language and her eye for the telling moment.” —New York Times Book Review

“When reading Dunmore, there is always the consolation of being with a fine mind.” —Houston Chronicle

“Her writing is both elegant and revealing.” —Seattle Times

“Dunmore’s rich writing [is] by turns muscular and poetic.” —Washington Post

Prizes and awards

The Poetry Society’s Alice Hunt Bartlett Award for The Sea Skater
A Poetry Book Society Choice for The Raw Garden
Poetry Book Society Recommendations for Bestiary and Short Days, Long Nights
The Signal Award for Poetry for Secrets
The McKitterick Prize for Zennor in Darkness
The Orange Prize for Fiction for A Spell of Winter

Writing history & bibliography

Zennor in Darkness, Penguin, 1993
Burning Bright, Penguin, 1994
A Spell of Winter, Penguin, 1995
Talking to the Dead, Penguin, 1996
Your Blue-eyed Boy, Penguin, 1998
With Your Crooked Heart, Penguin, 1999
The Siege, Penguin, 2001

Poetry Collections
The Apple Fall, Bloodaxe Books, 1983
The Sea Skater, Bloodaxe Books, 1986
The Raw Garden, Bloodaxe Books, 1988
Short Days, Long Nights, New and Selected Poems, Bloodaxe Books, 1991
Recovering a Body, Bloodaxe Books, 1994
Bestiary, Bloodaxe Books, 1997
Penguin Modern Poets 12, with Jo Shapcott and Matthew Sweeney, Penguin, 1997
Out of the Blue, Poems 1975-2001, Bloodaxe Books, 2001

Short Stories
Love of Fat Men, Penguin, 1997
Ice-Cream, Penguin, 1999

Poetry Collections for Children
Secrets, Bodley Head, 1994
Snollygoster, Scholastic Children1s Books, 2001

Fiction for Children
Going to Egypt, Red Fox Definitions, Random House, 1992 & 2001
In the Money, Red Fox Definitions, Random House, 1993 & 2001
Go Fox, Transworld, 1995
Fatal Error, Transworld, 1996 & 2001
Amina’s Blanket, Reed Books, 1996 & 2000
Allie’s Apples, Mammoth, 1997
Allie’s Rabbit, Mammoth, 1998
Allie Away, Mammoth, 2000
Aliens Don’t Eat Bacon Sandwiches, Egmont, 2000
Clyde’s Leopard, Cambridge University Press, 1998
Great-Grandma’s Dancing Dress, Cambridge University Press, 1998
Brother Brother, Sister Sister, Scholastic Children’s Books 1999
Zillah and Me, Scholastic Children’s Books, 2000
The Zillah Rebellion, Scholastic Children’s Books, 2001